To digress

Posted on April 21, 2007

10


many-colours-one-dream.jpg

I was in the new Kuala Lumpur Court complex at Jalan Duta yesterday morning.

Impressive building. Huge Roman Columns-like pillars look down on you.

I made my way to the washroom and wept.

I could not help but think back to some 17 years ago when the Magistrates and Sessions Courts were then located at Jalan Duta but were housed in old wooden PWD buildings that were waiting to fall apart. Rickety, yes, but by far and large, justice was served.

I wept because at 12.30pm yesterday, I was to meet a man whose wife and child had been taken away from him by those who will have us believe they act in the defence of Islam. For him, it was a meeting of hope.

I wept because I would have to tell him not to wait on justice. She had long lost her way and was not to be found at the Palace of Putrajaya or the Roman Columns of Duta.   

Posted in: Digressions