How many died in custody in 2008, and where?

Posted on July 25, 2010

12


In an update to my ‘I’ve slept, Rocky…’ post, I alerted Rocky to research by his machai, Pure Shiite, on the number of deaths in custody for the period 2003-2007.

However, as PS had not given the link to the specific Hansard report where those figures were extracted from, I provided the same, right down to the very page where those details could be found.

I mentioned page 14 of the Hansard report.

Rocky took the cue.

This is what he posted at PS’s blog as a comment :

“Bro PS,

Haris Ibrahim dah panggil you my machai. He mentioned your stats here and has given a link to some parliament papers. Stack and stack. I gave up trying to look for the relevant part. Memang pandai putaralam.

Now, back to work. Can you finish that research on the prison deaths quick. I need to pass it to Haris quick so that he can explain where he get the 1805.

First thing Monday, or your services as my machai will no longer be needed. Hehe”

Rocky, you gave up looking for the relevant part, after I had directed the attention of all and sundry to page 14 of the  Hansard report of 8th July, 2008?

Are your UMNO paymasters aware of this?

Okay, let’s set your bloodhound in Jakarta on the right track.

The number of deaths in custody in 2008, and where?

13 died in police custody whilst another 255 died in other prison / detention facilities.

Add these to the 1535 that your bloodhound confirmed and the 4 who died in between January and 16th July, 2009 and what do you get as the total number of deaths in custody between 2003 and 16th July, 2009?

1535 + 255 + 13 + 4 = ???????

You can work this out, Rocky?

The source document for the 2008 figures?

Surely an investigative journalist of your calibre, with an impressive array of macai in tow, will get to the bottom of this, no?

Drop me a line, though, if I have been too presumptious, and I’ll put you out of your misery.

Posted in: Digressions