ISA to SOA : From the frying pan into the fires of hell!

Posted on April 23, 2012

4


I have been meaning to share my thoughts with you on the new law that replaces the ISA, but my focus on Labuan, Sabah, the much anticipated BERSIH 3.0 Duduk Bantah and the ongoing Occupy Dataran has left me little time for that.

My friend, Malik Imtiaz, has clearly given much time to the study of the Security Offences (Special Measures) Bill (SOA) and has penned his thoughts HERE.

He concludes that the SOA, together with the bill tabled to amend the Penal Code “brutally curtail the constitutional freedom of Malaysians to dissent. It seems that we have been made the victims of a sleight of hand. While we were being distracted by the song and dance that attended the termination of the ISA, Parliament was being harnessed to diabolical purpose. The passing of the two bills has sounded the death knell of civil liberties”.

I agree.

I will try to add to Malik’s views in a post later today or tomorrow.