Maaf zahir dan batin

Posted on August 19, 2012

18


On this day, when those of the Muslim faith enjoin the forgiving of wrongs done, and to seek forgiveness for wrongs done unto others, I ask for forgiveness once again from every anak bangsa Malaysia who has been marginalised by the manner in which the New Economic Policy was implemented.

In my days of ignorance, I have received a study loan from a government programme reserved for Malays. I have also previously partaken of the Amanah Saham Bumiputra scheme. To the best of my recollection, this is the extent to which I have benefited from the NEP.

I have since ceased to partake in the Amanah Saham Bumiputra scheme.

I dissociate with any notion that my citizenship has greater value than anyone else’s on account of my Malay ancestry. I am firstly Malaysian. My Malay heritage in this regard bears no relevance whatsoever.

I am unable to divest myself of the benefit that I have taken from the NEP. I can only atone for this wrong by working with like-minded Malaysians to have implementated a new policy that is just and equitable to all Malaysians.

To my brothers and sisters in Sabah and Sarawak, I seek your forgiveness that for so long, under the guise of your nations being mere 12th and 13th states of Malaysia, you have been robbed of your dignity to self-govern, and of your God-given wealth, so much needed to uplift the lives of so many impoverished.

We may be 49 years late in honouring all that you were entitled to receive under the Malaysia Agreement, 1963, but this I pledge to you, that I will work with any and all of your local leaders who are determined to see your rights under that Agreement  honoured, to deliver to you that which was promised to your forefathers in 1963.