No, Pete, I do not feel like kicking myself

Posted on November 14, 2012

29


“But back in 1990 and/or 1999, Malaysians did not act. There are dozens of excuses why they did not act. And all those excuses concern what others did or did not do. They are not about what we did or did not do. We are not to blame. Others are to blame…But how to say, “It is my fault”? How to admit, “I am to blame”? So the Malays blame with the Chinese, the Indians and the natives of Sabah and Sarawak; the Chinese blame the Malays, the Indians and the natives of Sabah and Sarawak; and so on and so forth.” – RPK, in his “Do you feel like kicking yourself?” post.

Last night, Pete, I spoke at the Ceramah in Melaka.

Towards the end of my speech, I apologised to the 1,000-odd people in the audience for my past apathy.

I admitted that I saw what was happening, but was not concerned enough to try and do something about the plunder of my nation and the injustice to my fellow Malaysians.

I told them I was grateful to God for opening my heart to feel the pain and misery of the many who are suffering under an oppressed regime and to give me the strength to now try and atone for my past wrongs.

And I swore, Pete, that, as God is my witness, I will work with the many fine young Malaysians who have stepped forward to remove UMNO and BN from power and return justice back to this nation and her people.

Malays blame the Chinese, the Indians and the natives of Sabah and Sarawak, you say?

Pete, I hope they are making it worth your while to write as you do now.

Posted in: Digressions