Are we reaching that point where, for many, it would be cheaper to just die?

Posted on August 4, 2013

34


many-colours-one-dream

923089_576322912401152_1069880995_n

Growing up, whenever I was down with the flu, there was only 1 thing to look forward to.

thCA0HWLORWell, not just tomato soup, but almost the whole range that Campbell’s had on offer.

My favourite though, was the tomato and the mushroom.

Last weekend, my rhinitis struck again.

And this time it was bad.

Have been on a course of antibiotics since last Monday and, whilst I take the last tablet of that course after lunch today, and I am feeling much better, I’m probably going to have to go into the ENT’s clinic tomorrow for another round of treatment.

No, this post is not about the rising cost of medical treatment.

A year and a half ago, when I was also down with a bad case of rhinitis, I stocked up on Campbell’s soup as I could not bring myself to consume any solids.

Last Monday, I had the last can of soup from that stock.

Tuesday, went down to the supermarket to get some cans to see me through this latest episode.

I could not believe my eyes.

RM9.50 for a can of Campbell’s tomato soup!

Needless to say, I left the supermarket without buying any.

Back home, I retrieved the empty can from the bin to check the price I paid 1 1/2 years ago.

RM4.50.

I don’t usually cook at home, so I hardly shop for groceries, and hence, whilst well aware that the cost of essentials is spiralling upwards, I have not quite kept track of prices.

Are you all experiencing the same?

How are you coping?