I have no title for this

Posted on February 4, 2014

11


923089_576322912401152_1069880995_nChristians believe that God made man in His own image.

To say that this  cannot be a reference to a physical image may be to state the obvious, but I will say it anyway.

I do not think Christians mean that God made man to reflect God’s physical image.

Which then takes me to what I have come to learn from the Holy Qur’an.

The Holy Qur’an tells me that at some stage of my development as a wee little foetus in my Mama’s  womb, my Lord, my Creator, my Sustainer, the Most Merciful, breathed into my puny little heart beat, of His own Spirit.

Awesome, isn’t it?

In me resides the Spirit of the Divine!

In each of us, regardless of the faith we profess, resides that Divine Spirit breathed into us as we nestled, carefree, without want or desire, in our mother’s womb.

It is that spirit that fills us with the boundless capacity to love unconditionally.

And that Divine Spirit, I believe, is the image of God that my Christian brothers and sisters speak of.

To give of one’s own self, expecting nothing in return.

And in that giving, to find one’s peace with one’s Maker and all of His Creation.

Posted in: Digressions