Shocked? Why?

Posted on March 7, 2014

19


many-colours-one-dream

923089_576322912401152_1069880995_n

These are some of the reactions quoted by the Malaysianinsider to the decision of the Court of Appeal to overturn Anwar’s acquittal on the Sodomy II charge.

“I can’t believe this is happening!” – Datuk Ambiga Sreenevasan.

“Shocking…Where is Justice?” – Elizabeth Wong.

I am really surprised that Ambiga “can’t believe this is happening” or that Elizabeth is wondering where the hell justice is.

This part of Rafizi Ramli’s comment reflects my own : “The worst feeling is that I am not shocked…”

In 2007, the VK Lingam video expose of judge-fixing happened just before the Law Conference in Kuala Lumpur.

An impromptu slot was given to me to speak at the conference in relation to the VK Lingam scandal.

I touched on how lawyers in Pakistan had earlier that same year  boycotted the courts and taken to the streets to protest efforts by then Pakistan president, General Pervez Musharraf,to force the chief justice, Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry to resign. you can read about it HERE.

“Could we not do the same?” , I asked.

My suggestion must have seemed to lawyers in the audience as the words of one whose legal practise was not thriving and hence I would not feel the pinch if such action was to be taken.

So Malaysian lawyers would not rise to the occasion as did their counterparts in Pakistan.

They settled for  a walk for justice.

Yes, I was there.

Better than nothing, I thought then.

End 2010, I quit legal practise to focus on getting rid of UMNO /BN. I wrote about that decision HERE.

Late last year, having not been in gainful employment for almost 3 years, I toyed with the idea of returning to legal practise.

What stopped me?

The string of election petitions that were dismissed.

Where is justice, you ask, Eli?

toilet bowl