It don’t work that way, Pop

Posted on July 21, 2014

12


many-colours-one-dreamnegara - ku

Staronline reported last Thursday that Uncle Sim, the victim of the recent Kuantan road bully case hopes that the public will, as he has himself done, forgive the perpetrator, Siti Fairrah Ashykin Kamaruddin, and that no criminal charges be brought against her in connection with that most unfortunate incident.

Firstly, I want to say that I am so proud to look upon Sim as a fellow anak bangsa Malaysia and as an elder brother who has demonstrated the qualities that we should all look to emulate.

As for Siti, better known as Kiki, it is good that she has seen the error of her ways and apologised to Sim, who has most graciously accepted her apology, and  both have publicly made up.

sim

However, much as Sim would like to treat that as the end of the matter, I am afraid that that cannot and should not be the case.

Sim knocked into Kiki’s car from behind and was fined RM200, presumably for reckless driving.

Reckless, but unintentional.

Kiki, on the other hand, caused damage intentionally in the cause of an assault ( assault here in the legal sense of acting in a manner that could cause another reasonably to apprehend being hurt thereby ) in the context of another road rage case, something that, in my view, happens too often these days.

Whilst it is good that parties involved have shaken hands and agreed to put it behind them, an offence has been committed and, in my view, not charging the perpetrator, sends a bad message out to those who may have tendencies to act as Kiki had.

So, I think the authorities must charge Kiki with the appropriate charge in court and, given that she has publicly acknowledged her wrong and apologised for the same, it would be good for her to take the appropriate plea in court and not do a VK Lingam ‘Looks like me, sounds like me…’ or a Flip Wilson’s ( for those of you old enough to remember this fella )  ‘the devil made me do it!’.

What sentence if convicted without trial?

It was reported somewhere that in the cause of the incident, Kiki had made a racist remark ( I confess I did not hear this when I viewed the video, but the audio was not very good ).

I would think that a custodial sentence would be excessive, and a fine would suggest that money can always buy us out of our wrongs.

If I were the magistrate, I would order Kiki to do 100 hours of community service with the community that she had disparaged at the time of the incident