Pelancaran Gerakan Hapus Akta Hasutan

Posted on September 11, 2014

0


many-colours-one-dream

923089_576322912401152_1069880995_n

I had applied to the High Court to strike out the sedition charge pending against me in the Sessions Court on the grounds that the Sedition Act, 1948 is bad law.

That application was struck out by the High Court judge, without the merits of my application being heard, after the judge upheld preliminary objections raised by the prosecution to that application.

My lawyers appealed that decision to the Court of Appeal.

Last Tuesday, the Court of Appeal struck out my appeal, without hearing any argument from Gobind Singh on its merits, when it upheld preliminary objections raised by the prosecution.

The charge in the Sessions Court is now fixed for mention on 25th September, 2014, on which date, I expect the court will set it down for trial.

Yesterday, I was at the University of Malaya to attend the solidarity HARTAL for Azmi Sharom.

I’d hoped to see thousands of students out there. That did not happen.

You can read about that HERE and HERE.

Even so, given my experience in the courts thus far, I’ve got to place my continued liberty in the hands of my fellow Malaysians.

10620573_280416122147900_2606401073660528262_nI’ve been asked to speak at the launch this Sunday.

I will, as I refuse to be silenced.

Hope to see you all there.

You would have noticed how, on an almost daily basis, someone is being hauled up to court to be charged under the Sedition Act.

Ali Abd Jalil

Ali Abd Jalil

Ali bin Abdul Jalil faced a first charge last Monday morning at the Selayang Sessions Court. Bail of RM5000 was posted and, upon being released, he was re-arrested to face 2 more charges under the Sedition Act, this time in the Shah Alam High Court.

In Shah Alam, bail for the 2 charges was set at RM4000 for each charge. As efforts were being made to raise the bail money, supporters there were informed that upon his being released on bail, he would again be re-arrested to be taken to Johor Baru to face another charge under the Sedition Act. And, it seems, other charges also await him.

All under the Sedition Act.

You can see that we are going to need funds to help out any one else who may be slapped with charges under the Sedition Act in the coming days, weeks and months.

your help is needed.

10702182_350725838385849_527395099694938677_n