Better late than never. Well done, Pantai Klang Hospital!

Posted on November 24, 2014

2


many-colours-one-dreamOn 20th September, 2012, I reported of a cafeteria in a private hospital that was fly-friendly.

I had, then, suggested to the supervisor, that a glass door fitted to shut out the flies might be the solution, but this idea had been shot down by her as “patients on wheelchair want to come in will complain, lah”.

I had then given the hospital a week to do something about the flies, failing which I would name and shame the hospital.

On 29th September, 2012, I reported that an admin staff of the hospital informed me that remedial action had been taken.

On 8th October, 2012, I dropped by at the hospital to see for myself. That same day, I reported that there were still flies galore in the cafeteria, and had informed the hospital admin staff and her manager that I would give the hospital one more month to resolve this, failing which I would name them here.

On 19th November, 2012, I was back in the hospital, and was pleased to find the cafeteria to be fly-free. I reported then that I was provisionally certifying the hospital to be fly-free, and that the hospital would be on permanent probation and that if on any visit there, I found that the problem of flies had returned, I would name them.

On 12th March, 2014 and 4th April, 2014, I attended the hospital and, on both occasions, stepped into the cafeteria.

On both occasions, I found flies in the cafeteria.

On 10th April, 2014, I reported this, and named the hospital as Pantai Klang Hospital, in a report in the Rakyat Times.

Last Tuesday, 18th November, 2014, I was back at the hospital.

I was pleasantly surprised.

A glass door now completely seals in the cafeteria

A glass door now completely seals in the cafeteria

My suggestion had finally been taken up. Rather than an open entrance to the cafeteria, a glass door was in place.

I walked in and sat down for about a half hour to observe.

The place was generally clean

The place was generally clean

The exterior of the bin was clean and it was not filled to the brim

The exterior of the bin was clean and it was not filled to the brim

No flies in that time.

This was displayed on the wall.

JpegJpeg

You took your time, Pantai Klang Hospital, but better late than never.

Well done!