14/10/2016 : In the case of Haris vs. Election Commission

Posted on October 5, 2016


many-colours-one-dream923089_576322912401152_1069880995_nIn October, 2014, the Election Commission had made public statements to the effect that it was then collating information with a view to commence a nationwide redelineation exercise.

EC also had announced then that once the notice of the proposed redelineation had been gazetted, the public could inspect the proposed redelineation at certain selected places whereafter registered voters could make representations if they were unhappy with the proposed redelineation to their constituency.

On 8th December, 2014, I wrote to the EC to request for information necessary for me to better understand any proposed redelineation to my parliamentary and state constituency, PJ Selatan and Bukit Gasing.

I got no reply from the EC.

On 19th January, 2015, I commenced proceedings in the Kuala Lumpur High Court, seeking declarations as to my  right to receive relevant information once EC has gazetted the notice under section 4, Part 2, 13th Schedule of the Federal Constitution to relating to a proposed redelineation exercise.

On 11th, June, 2015, the High Court dismissed my application. One of the reasons for that dismissal was that at the material time, EC had not yet issued any notice of a proposed redelineation. I had, as such, no real grievance to advance to the court.

I appealed against that decision to the Court of Appeal.

ca-subsOn 15th September, this year, EC gazetted notice issued under section 4, Part 2, 13th Schedule of the Federal Constitution. Yes, the proposed nationwide redelineation was underway.

My appeal against the decision of the High Court dismissing my application seeking a declaration as to my right to receive information relating to the proposed redelineation is now fixed for hearing on 14th October, 2016.