The deed is done

Posted on October 29, 2008

46


Long live His Majesty!

Zaki is the new chief justice – See Malaysiakini

Malaysiakini reports that Bar Council president Ambiga was impressed with the new chief justice’s maiden speech.

“I think it was a no-nonsense and tough speech… He is off to a good start with that speech,”, Ambiga is reported to have said.

I’ve heard too many tough speeches in the past. I pray that His Majesty and Zaki will forgive me if I do not share Ambiga’s optimism.

I’ve had e-mails coming in lamenting about our wasted petition and advising that I should not waste my time and your time with future petitions to His Majesty.

Sorry, but I shall continue to petition His Majesty when I think they are necessary.

Why?

Sure, 25,700 of us petitioned His Majesty urging the appointment of the senior most judge of the Federal Court to the position of chief justice. His Majesty did otherwise.

Why?

I do not know.

Did His Majesty know something that we did not?

I do not know.

What I do know is that we, 25,700 of us, did the right thing in communicating to His Majesty about our concerns.

Why?

The Federal Constitution makes His Majesty the partner with the rakyat in the governance of this nation.

Yet you and I, the rakyat, only have the power of the vote in determining who sits in the legislative chamber and, from that legislative chamber, the pool of individuals from which the executive is picked.

However, His Majesty has a say in the appointment of important constitutional institutions. Like the office of the chariman of the Election Commission. The Attorney General. And the judges.

And in times when the legislature and the executive, which are supposed, constitutionally, to represent us, appear to be acting contrary to the best interests of the rakyat, then our partner in governance ought to be alerted to our concerns and our interests.

So that, with the wisdom that God has bestowed upon him, His Majesty can, with full knowledge of all the facts, and as he should, act in the best interests of the rakyat.

And what, you may well ask, if, God forbid, His Majesty does nothing?

My short answer, is that, his constitutional position aside, His Majesty, like me, is but a man.

And His Majesty, like me, believes that one day, he too must answer to God.

And on that day of Judgment, of which I have no doubt, I  shall bear witness that the people took their grievances to His Majesty.

And as we, His Majesty’s subjects, are today judged in His Majesty’s courts by the judges of His Majesty’s choosing, so too, on that day of Judgment, will His Majesty be judged.

Long live His Majesty!