Mark us with your life

Posted on February 9, 2009

17


many-colours-115

markus-as-a-child2

markus-as-a-chiild1markus-footballingmarkus-graduatingmarkus-on-the-guitarmarkus-vigiling1last-journeygrave

We enter this world with nothing and we leave with nothing.

What do we leave behind?

Until his death, I knew little of Markus.

Since his passing last Wednesday, I got a little insight into this young man from his BLOG, but this did not prepare me for what I would later learn.

Friday night last, I attended the wake service.

Testimony after testimony from people whose lives Markus had touched left me completely in awe of this young man who had packed more selfless love for others in his short life than many of us will do if God gave each of us ten lifetimes. You can read some of those tributes HERE.

At the funeral, as the casket was lowered, my thoughts briefly drifted away to another anak Bangsa Malaysia who we had recently buried.

I speak of the late Kugan.

Markus was at Kugan’s funeral.

I could not help but reflect on the stark contrasts between these two anak Bangsa Malaysia, both in life and in death.

One blessed with opportunities, the other not so.

One passed on peacefully in his sleep, the other suffered a torturous death.

I have no doubt that as we buried Kugan, Markus, like so many of us, would have felt much anguish at the life and death of Kugan.

What did Markus leave behind?

A legacy of dreams and visions of a nation built on the precepts of justice and equality, where no child might be made to feel unloved, or lesser than the next.

And much unfinished work to make this world a better place.

Markus has left us to pick up where he left off.

May his spirit continue to inspire the many lives that he touched.

Posted in: Bangsa Malaysia