Do I love Lord Ganesha?

Posted on September 12, 2009

98


many-colours-11

Commentator Zainal did not approve of my “The beautiful Malay” post.

This is the comment he sent in yesterday :

zainal Says:
September 11, 2009 at 9:41 pm e

I think you are munafik…I don’t think you practising islam…is better for you to declare yourself as murtad so that all the malays knows that you are non muslim. By doing this we can distinguish either you kafir laknat or kafir dhimmi. Kafir laknat or munafik, Allah promise you the lowest level of hell. When you declare yourself murtad, at least you “tak melagakan orang2 islam”. Please if you love very much the Lord of Ganesha…just practise hindusm.

Here’s my response, Zainal.

If you are unable to remain emotionally neutral, and if love or hate are the only two options available, love would be the better, don’t you think?

I mean, hate is so, so, negative, don’t you think?

Hate eats at your innards leaving you all ugly on the inside, can’t you see?

And if  you can’t see this, I won’t fault you because you did not have the benefit of a lifetime with a woman who had the ability to see the beauty in everything the naked eye, and more, could perceive.

So let me say this loud and clear.

I do love Lord Ganesha and I do try to practise all that is beautiful and good that I perceive of the Hindu faith.

Just as I do love and try to practise all that is good that I find in all the other faiths, without exception.

You know, the kindness, compassion, charity, equality, justice, annihilation of the ego thingy that the Holy Qur’an extols on its adherents.

It’s there, in all the other faiths, if you’d only allow yourself the chance to discover this.

Does this make me a murtad from Islam?

That’s a matter between God and I, don’t you think?

So why don’t we leave that vexing question to God so that you and I can continue to live in peace?

That would be better than you or I hating each other, don’t you think?

If you can’t quite understand all that I’ve written here, don’t lose sleep over it.

You may, in time, God Willing.

I’ll pray for you.

Posted in: Digressions