Donald, you have sat too long for any good you have been doing. Depart, I say, and let us have done with you. In the name of God, go!

Posted on December 14, 2007

10


many-colours-1.jpg

shiver commented :

did we wasted our time writing to our MP? firstly, it was a world record attendance of ALL BN MP barring CMF as she was recovering from her accident and ALL of BN MP’s aye the amendment for the retirement age.

whats the point la haris? those who have ears let them hear? i think they are hearing the sound of the cash cow that they are miliking from the rakyat. and the rakyat are the ones voting those morons in.’

lulu commented :

Article 114 amended, Opposition MPs stage walkout. The first round of voting at the policy stage saw 189 voting in favour. There was no vote against the bill due to the walkout

they ALL let us down’

Cornie commented :

 I am disheartened to receive from the National News on television today that the Parliment had passed the amendment bill (Article 114), after 2nd and/or 3rd reading for extending the Chairman of the Election Commission’s (Tan Sri Abdul Rashid) tenure from age 65 to 66 until June 2009, in a rushed bull-dozed manner despite numerous attempts from the voice of the rakyat – represented by many non-political quarters, Suaram, Writers Alliance for Media Independence, Centre of Independant Journalism, Pusat Komas, Citizen Thinktank, and most of all – Bersih, without a proper debate with the Wakil Rakyat.

Even the ‘Memorandum of Petition against the bill (with reasons and historical facts of Abdul Rashid’s discredibility & proof of previous rigged election processes), merely to be passed to the members of the parliament this morning was halted on the pretext of ‘public safety’. This is utter nonsense. Traffic jams were created by the police themselves, not the members of the parties above.

I have lost confidence with the so-called ‘democratic’ parliamentary and judiciary system.

The government no longer hears the rakyat.

I am disappointed.’

_________________________ 

A lot of people are angry, judging from comments to this blog.

About a lot of things in the country.

I was very angry yesterday.

Still am.

About a whole host of things.

The use of the ISA on the Hindraf 5, the terms of reference of the Royal Commission and the individuals appointed to the same, the appointment of Zaki, the arrest of the BERSIH delegation to Parliament, and the unanimous approval of the Rashid bill by the Dewan Rakyat.

Let me now deal with the matter commented on by shiver, lulu and Cornie. 

__________________________

In the ‘Got to know my MP’ post, I wrote about the second meeting between Donald Lim and the ‘PJ Selatan get to know your MP’ initiative.

Amongst other things, this is what I had said :

‘Conclusions drawn from the meetings?

I am going to let the members of this group think over the matters discussed and the feedback from the MP, perhaps brainstorm over the same, and then share their thoughts with you, if they will, at a press conference’. 

Yesterday, I called all the members of that initiative and informed that I was going to break rank with the group. They were free to carry on with their discussions and that when they were ready, I would organise the press conference for them to share their views with you. They are welcome to take a view or stand contrary to what I am going to say here.

I did not need any further deliberations.

At the second meeting with Donald, 9 PJ Selatan voters, myself included, told him that he was to vote against the bill.

Instead, he voted for the bill.

This was an act of insubordination.

I do not need any further proof that Donald does not represent me in Parliament. He represents UMNO and does the bidding of UMNO.

In my very first posting on this blog, entitled ‘About me and this blog’, I had said :

‘I have become increasingly disillusioned with ministers, MPs and judges who have breached the people’s trust and reneged on their oath of office to defend and uphold our constitution. 

This blog, then, is about civil society reclaiming its power to determine who are the law-makers in Parliament today who are worthy of the trust reposed in them by the people and if, sadly, we discover there are none presently, to make an informed decision of who we will next install in the people’s parliament’.  

Donald, I have very little to say to you, other than to borrow the words of Oliver Cromwell :

‘“You have sat too long for any good you have been doing. Depart, I say, and let us have done with you. In the name of God, go!”

I shall now turn to the opposition parties and ask to be told who will be fielded as the candidate to oppose BN.

I want to know now, and not when Parliament is dissolved.

I want to decide now if their candidate of choice will get my vote, and if so, I shall start to work now to get him or her into Parliament.

And if their choice does not meet my expectations, then I shall source my own candidate from within civil society, start the campaign for him or her now, and work to have someone in Parliament who will honour the oath of office and represent the people.  

Yes, I’m angry at what corrupt politicians are doing to my country.

As angry as many of you out there.

And I will try to do something about it.

To PJ Selatanites who are content to just bitch and gripe about the state of things in the country, I do not have time for you. Go find some other playground in blogosphere.

If, however, you want to join me and try to send an honest person to Parliament at the next elections, send me an e-mail at thepeoplesparliament@gmail.com

Posted in: People Power