Hartal ISA on standby mode : Update

Posted on September 19, 2008

18


I had said that those planning the Hartal ISA effort would monitor developments today and then revert to you.

We have received certain reliable information today which suggests that we might begin to see a way through the current impasse in trying to resolve the question of who in fact commands the confidence of the majority in Parliament.

That is not to say that the obstacles to Pakatan Rakyat’s route to Putrajaya have all fallen by the wayside.

Far from it.

For that reason, I hope you will understand that I am unable to divulge here details of and the nature of the reliable information that we have received. I wish I could give you more details but I really can’t.

All I can say at this juncture is that earnest efforts are underway to take our hopes of seeing BN toppled at the earliest possible closer to becoming a reality. And these efforts appear to be bearing fruit.

As you might well expect, those who stand to lose the most when PR come to power are still working to undermine those efforts.

We’ve been informed that MPs from Sabah and Sarawak are being hindered in their attempts to book flights to Semenanjung. All kinds of threats are being issued to intimidate these MPs. However, earnest efforts are underway to help those MPs make their way here.

It has also been indicated to us that notwithstanding Pak Lah’s statement that there is no reason for him to resort to the detention and arrest of Anwar, this cannot as yet be totally discounted.

My friends and I feel that, for now, Hartal ISA must still remain in standby mode whilst we continue to monitor ongoing developments flowing from those ongoing efforts.

My friends and I ask you to please be patient, to continue to be ready to move should it become necessary to call Hartal ISA into action, and to continue in your efforts to disseminate information of our possible Hartal ISA effort.

I will try to bring any new developments to your attention as and when I receive information of the same.

By the way, someone in one of their comments yesterday asked if I really believed that Anwar has the requisite numbers to pull this off.

Simply put, yes.

And Pak Lah and UMNO know this too.

Posted in: People Power